
                      USING THE BIDDING AS A GUIDE TO PLAY AND DEFENSE  
by Eddie Kantar  www.kantarbridge.com 

 
Unless a hand is passed out, there is going to be bidding. Good bidders generally try to describe 
their hand. Good listeners use these descriptions as a guide to both play and defense. 
  
By the time some bidding sequences are over and the opening lead is made, it is not that unusual 
for the declarer, third hand, and the opening leader to know everyone's distribution after the first 
or second trick! And you don't have to be a great player to be able to do this. 
  
Also, many sequences show the bidder's point count range within 1-3 HCP. If you assume the 
middle range, you can't be off by more than one point. Clearly knowing the strength of an 
opponent's hand is going to be helpful in the play or defense. 
  
The following hand shows you how to improve your game dramatically by using clues from the 
bidding. Listen!    
  
Dlr: West 
N-S vulnerable  

S. Q108 
H. 52 
D. AQ109 
C. AQ95 

 

K7 
AJ8743 
864 
74 

 
65432 
106 
732 
K86 

West   North   East   South 
2H       Dbl.     Pass   3NT 
All Pass 
 
Opening lead: H7  
(4th best) 

S. AJ9 
H. KQ9 
D. KJ5 
C. J1032 

 

 
Bidding Commentary: Nothing unusual. North would have liked to have four spades for the 
double, but if you always wait for the perfect hand, you spend half your life waiting.   
  
Play Commentary: The bidding tells you that West has 6 hearts and the Rule of 11 tells you that 
East has one heart higher than the 7, the 10. Ergo, East started with 10x of hearts. As the club 
finesse goes into East, duck the first heart. Assuming East returns the suit, it is now safe to 
finesse into East to ensure nine tricks as East is out of hearts.   
  
Defensive Commentary: Say declarer errs by winning the first heart, crosses to a diamond and 
takes a losing spade finesse. As West, after winning the SK, looking at the HJ, you know that 
partner played his highest heart and furthermore the play of the H10 denies the H9. So, declarer 
remains with the Q9 of hearts; translation: Don't cash the HA hoping the queen will drop. In fact, 
if you lead any card in your hand other than a heart, declarer fails as the club finesse is needed 
for a ninth trick and it doesn't work.       

 



MORE CONVENTIONS, MORE PRACTICE 
by Barbara Seagram & David Bird 
Coming Fall 2018  You asked for it again! 
 
Following the runaway success of Practice Makes Perfect, bridge 
teachers asked the authors to produce a similar companion book 
to 25 More Bridge Conventions You Should Know.  

 
And here it is -- a brief summary of each of those 25 MORE 
conventions at the start of each chapter, followed then by example hands that can be 
dealt out and used to apply your new knowledge. 
Here is an excerpt from the Chapter on Support Doubles: 
 
To bid accurately, particularly in competitive auctions, it is essential to know how 
many trumps will be at your disposal. Several bidding innovations aim in this direction. 
Here is an example of the Support Double:  
 
K7 
A105 
94 
AQ10643 

You      LHO       Partner        RHO 
1C        Pass       1H                1S 
Dbl 

 
This is a Support Double (if you have agreed with partner that you are playing Support 
Doubles. This shows exactly THREE Hearts. It says nothing about your overall 
strength. Partner will initially assume that your hand is minimum but you can bid 
strongly thereafter when you have extra points.  
 
If instead you were to raise directly to 2H (or 3H or 4H), you would promise 4-card 
support, showing your strength at the same time. A rebid of 2C would show extra Club 
length but deny three Hearts. The opportunity for a Support Double arises when your 
RHO bids and there is still space for you to give a single raise of partner's suit.  
 
YOU 
 
Q852 
K1083 
QJ3 
J4 

PARTNER 
 
A4 
Q75 
A10942 
K86 

You 
 
 

1H 
2D 

LHO 
 
 

2C 
Pass 

Partner 
 

1D 
Double 
Pass 

RHO 
 

Pass 
Pass 
Pass 

You rebid 2D, warning partner that there is only a 4-3 fit in Hearts. 
 
By the way, you know that partner MUST have at least four Diamonds because the only 
time she will ever open with 1D holding only three Diamonds, is when she is 4-4-3-2 
(S-H-D-C). If she was 4-4-3-2, then she would have raised your Hearts. That 4-4-3-2 
hand and opening 1D with only three Diamonds comes along only 4% of the time.  



YOU 
 
A87 
KQ963 
AJ9 
63 

PARTNER 
 
KQ1042 
82 
KQ7 
J94 

YOU 
 

1H 
Dbl 
4S 

LHO 
 

Pass 
Pass 
Pass 

PARTNER 
 

1S 
3S 

Pass 

RHO 
 

2C 
Pass 
Pass 

  
You show your 3-card Spade support and partner judges he is worth a game-try. You 
accept the offer and a good game is reached. 
 
If your RHO doubles instead of overcalling a suit, you now say Redouble to show 3-
card support and raise, holding 4-card support.  
 
NOTE: In order for Opener to make a Support Double, the bid by his RHO must be 2H 
or lower.  
  

1092 
Q108 
AK6 
A753 

 

AJ4 
3 
QJ10974 
K104 

 
8763 
62 
8532 
QJ9 

 
N      E    S    W 
1C    P   1H   2D 
Dbl   P   6H   All Pass 

KQ5 
AKJ9754 
--- 
862 

 

 
 
 
The Bidding: North uses a Support Double to show his 3-card heart support. West is likely to 
hold some top diamond honors and South likes the chance that his partner's values will be 
where they need to be, rather than in diamonds. Not expecting to win any bidding prizes, he 
leaps spectacularly to 6H. 
  
The Play: West leads the D Q and declarer is surprised to see that more than half of North's 
points are in diamonds. How would you play the slam? 
 
West's overcall makes him the favourite to hold the S A, but East might well hold the S J. 
However, there is a second chance lurking in the diagram: clubs may break 3-3! You win the 
diamond lead and play dummy's other top diamond, throwing two clubs from your hand.  
 
You cash the ace of clubs and ruff a club with a high trump. You return to dummy in trumps 
and ruff another club in your hand. When the 3-3 break comes to light, the position of the 
adverse spade honors becomes irrelevant. After drawing trumps, you discard the S 5 on the 
13th club and concede a spade trick to the ace. If clubs had not broken 3-3, you would have 
taken the best remaining chance, finessing East for the S J.   

 



MURPHY'S LAWS OF BRIDGE 
by Joe Blatnick 

 
 

You won't feel fulfilled until you've learned the "Idaho transfer"-transfer the blame 
to partner.  
 
No matter how long you agonize, you still have to play a card.  
 
You're probably right if you think you're doing something wrong.  
 
Just when you put that bad result behind you, someone mentions it again.  
 
You can learn most aspects of Bridge through constant repetition. But try and 
recall them during a game. 
 
The best bid is the bid you didn't make.  
 
When you decide not to play a convention because of infrequent opportunity, it 
presents itself on the next hand.  

 
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  

 
 

 
 

 

 
 

 


