
 

BRIDGE TIP BY EDDIE KANTAR 
www.kantarbridge.com 

As declarer, play cards you are known to hold If it cannot cost you a trick. For example, 
if a queen is led on your left and you are declarer, dummy has small cards, you have KJ 
doubleton and the ace is played on your right, play the king. NOT the jack.  
 
Third hand knows you have the king from the lead of the queen, and the opening leader 
knows you have the king from partner's play of the ace. Since the king and jack are 
equals, and since they both know you have the king, PLAY IT!  PLAY IT!  
 
Ed. Note: Remember that when you are defending, you win with the cheapest of equal 
cards. If W leads the D 2 and dummy has 543 and you, third hand, have QJ7, you must 
play the J. This says: "I might have the Q." But if instead you play the Q, it says: "I do 
not have the J." This will greatly affect the defence.  
Remember to win from the bottom and lead from the top!.  
Eddie's tip (above) however, is about what Declarer should play when winning a trick. 
Remember what hat you are wearing! 

 

COUNTING THE HAND 

   

86 
AKQJ106 
K86 
A6 

 
AK 
985 
AQ107 
J842 

 
S      W      N      E 
                  4S    P 
P      5H     P      6H 
All pass                  

 
 

You are West and the contract is 6H. Dummy comes down and you count one club 
loser ONLY. Looks like a piece of cake.  
WARNING: Whenever it looks this easy, stop and ask yourself..."What could 
possibly go wrong??"  
 
You find out very quickly. South trumps the first round of Spades. You still have that 
pesky C loser so what on earth will you do about this. Hmm, well maybe the 
Diamonds will divide happily 3-3 and you can throw away your losing C on the long 
D in dummy.  
 
The play proceeds with S leading The C King at trick two. You win the C Ace and 
North plays a Spade. i.e. He does NOT ruff.  
 
Declarer's conclusions.  
N has NINE Spades (S ruffed trick one, remember?) 
N has NO Hearts (or he would have ruffed the Club).  



N MUST perforce have FOUR Diamonds.  
Therefore, S has only TWO Diamonds.  
 
Declarer must draw trump and now play small D to Ace in dummy. Small D back to 
West hand's K and now KNOWING THAT SOUTH CANNOT HAVE ANY MORE D, 
finesses N for the D Jack. On the D Q, West discards his losing C.  
 
See full hand below.  
 

QJ10975432 
--- 
J932 
--- 

 

86 
AKQJ106 
K86 
A6 

 

 
AK 
985 
AQ107 
J842 

 
--- 
7432 
54 
KQ109753 

 

 
When trying to decide how to play a problem suit, postpone playing this 
until later. This particular hand was easier to count than most. 
Counting is always somewhat arduous but take the time and effort and you 
will reap the rewards.  
When counting, do not try to count BOTH opponents' hands, just count the 
one with the known LONG suit. MUCH easier that way.  
 
Hand by Eddie Kantar.  
www.kantarbridge.com 

Commentary by Barbara.  
 
 

Leads by KAREN WALKER 
www.kwbridge.com 

 
On some hands, a trump lead can actually be your strongest attack because 
it shortens declarer's or dummy's trump length. 
The types of auctions that will give you the strongest clues about this 
possibility include those where: 
 
Declarer has shown a two-suited hand, especially if you have strength in 
declarer's non-trump suit. Many players consider it virtually mandatory to 
lead a trump to an auction such as:  
 



West     East 
              1D 
1H          2C 
2D          Pass 
If you're South holding  
 
1098  
KQJ  
643  
AJ96  
 
lead the diamond 3. There's a strong possibility that dummy will be relatively short in 
declarer's  second  suit  (clubs),  and you  expect  declarer  will  try  to  use  dummy's 
diamonds to trump his club losers. Both opponents have shown minimum values, so 
they may not have enough in high‐card power alone to make their contract. 
 
A trump lead can also be an effective attack in other situations where the weaker hand 
shows  limited  trump support.  These  include  auctions  where  responder  takes 
a preference  after  opener  makes  a  two‐suited  bid  (e.g.  Flannery 2D,  for  example, 
showing 5 Hearts & 4 Spades)  
 
The same principle applies to two‐suited overcalls: 
 
You     LHO     Partner      RHO 
1S        2NT*      Dbl           3D           * = both minors 
Pass    Pass      Dbl           All pass  

 
You  don't  even  need  to  see  your  hand  to  know  that  a  trump lead  must  be  right. 
Partner's  first  double  showed  values  (around  10  or more  high‐card  points)  and  his 
second double showed a desire to defend. Even if you don't have a strong holding in 
the other minor, it's likely that partner does, so you want to prevent the short‐trump 
hand (declarer) from using his diamonds to trump dummy's club losers. 
The short‐trump hand (usually dummy) is marked with shortness in another suit. You 
can almost see dummy's singleton club after this auction: 
 
West     East 
1D          1H 
1S           1N 
2H           4H 

 
Opener's sequence here typically shows some extra values with 3-card 
heart support. Since opener pulled out of 1NT, he should have an 
unbalanced pattern -- probably 4-3-5-1. 
 
If you hold  



 
109  
865  
QJ76  
AK82   
 
resist the temptation to cash a high club, which may give declarer the 
tempo to eventually trump two club losers in dummy. You want to lead 
trumps as many times as possible, so start with the H 5. If declarer wants to 
set up ruffs in dummy, he'll have to lead clubs himself, and you'll be in again 
for a second trump lead. 
 
You have a clear advantage in overall power. This may be  
especially important if you've doubled the contract. 
 
You     LHO    Partner    RHO 
1NT     Pass    2C           2S 
Pass   Pass    Dbl          All pass 
 
After this auction, a trump lead is a good idea, even if you have an 
unattractive holding such as 
 
Q84  
QJ10  
KQ102  
AJ6 
 
Although partner should have moderate spade length and strength, his 
double may be partially based on knowledge that your side owns 
significantly more than half the high card strength. In this case, declarer's 
only prayer may be to score tricks with a few of dummy's trumps. Every 
trump lead you can make could cost him a trick. 
 
You have a clear advantage in trump length and strength. 
RHO   You    LHO    Partner 
1D       Dbl     All pass 
 
QJ102  
KJ76  
8  
AK63 
 
lead the D 8. 
 
Partner rates to have better trumps than declarer, so start attacking 
declarer's suit. Partner may even be able to draw all of declarer's and 
dummy's trumps. This is one of the rare exceptions to the "rule" about never 
leading a singleton trump. 



 
Ed. note: Whenever partner passes your takeout double, it shows at least 3 trump tricks 
and an outside Ace, always lead a trump.  
 
Passive trump leads: 
 
"When in doubt, lead a trump" is an old guideline that tends to be invoked 
too often. Ideally, you'll have a good reason and a clear strategy when you 
choose a trump lead. Sometimes, however, the good reason will be that no 
other lead is safe. After a 1S-2S auction by your opponents, you have 
an unappealing choice of leads from  
 
754  
A1082  
KJ32 
J4   
 
There are dangerous honor holdings in all the unbid suits, so try the spade 
4. You don't necessarily expect this to hurt declarer, but you hope it won't 
help. Since partner has only one or two trumps, probably the worst that can 
happen is that you'll locate his doubleton queen -- and that's 
something declarer may have found for himself anyway. 
 
A few caveats: You should avoid leading a trump when: 
 
 Declarer has shown a long suit and dummy hasn't raised. A trump lead 
into a one-suited hand isn't likely to be an effective attack (trumps is 
probably dummy's shortest suit) and it's not always safe. 
 
 It's a singleton. Your trump shortness is a clue that partner has length, and this lead 
will often pick up his honors. It's better to lead a long suit and try to force declarer to 
trump himself down to the same or shorter length than your partner. 
 

 You have a dangerous honor holding such as  
 
Jxx, Jx, K10x, A10x or Ax. Leads from these trump suits will be safe only if 
partner holds no trump honors. If he has the jack or queen, a lead from one 
of these combinations can make one of your natural trump tricks disappear 
immediately. Or, more likely, it may give declarer a finessing position that 
picks up your honor on the next lead. 
 

 

 
 

 

 

 
 


