
ETIQUETTE & PROTOCOL @ THE BRIDGE TABLE
Above all, avoid any behavior that would make anyone (especially beginners) feel uncomfortable.
TABLE MANNERS
Cards should not be taken out of the board before all players are at the table.
Before you look at your cards count your hand and ensure that you have exactly thirteen cards.
Do greet your opponents at the table and treat them with respect and courtesy.
Do not indulge in post-mortems with your partner directly after a hand is finished. (Save it for after the game.) Not only 
could a post-mortem undermine partnership confidence, but it may communicate information to other players who have 
not played the hand at other tables.
Do not criticize partner. (Keep it to yourself until after the game. You will have cooled down by then.)...And you may also 
have figured out that you share some of the blame.
Do compliment your opponents for fine bidding or play. (Especially beginners)
Do not gloat! (It is ugly.) Be modest.
Do say 'Director Please' in a pleasant tone. Keep your hand up so that the Director can quickly determine who called.
The PLEASE makes such a difference to the atmosphere in the room. 
Do support your partner at all times. She/he is the only player in the room that is on your side!
THE AUCTION
Bidding boxes are designed to reduce the possibility of information being communicated between partners by voice 
intonation or other mannerisms such as eye contact. When using a bidding box, decide what your bid is going to be before 
reaching for or touching cards in the bidding box. An extreme example of this impropriety is when you touch a 2H card and 
then pull out a pass card.
Do not ask for information from your opponents unless it is your turn to bid.
Do not ask what a bid means unless you are intending to bid. Asking for explanation without bidding could in certain 
circumstances be construed as passing unauthorized information to one's partner. If one doesn't intend to bid, questions of 
the opponents, should be made after the auction has concluded.
PLAY OF THE HAND
Do say 'Thank you' to your partner when he/she puts the Dummy on the table. (Even though you may be disappointed!)
Do, when you are on opening lead, lead first and then write the contract on your score sheet.
Do not SNAP your cards down on the table.

Do not detach a card from the hand before it is your turn to play. Do not pull up a card, push it back into your hand, and 
then pull up another card. Nor should you detach a card and then replace it to play another card. Also do not detach your 
card before it is your turn to play and never rearrange your hand when you are out of a suit. All of these maneuvers provide 
additional valuable information to the declarer.

You have the right to inspect the cards that have been played on the current trick as long as your card remains face up. 
Once all cards have been turned over (face down) no one can ask to see the cards that were played.
At the end of a hand ensure that you do not mix up your cards until the result is agreed with the opponents.
North, when scoring the traveler, must present it to East West for their acceptance prior to folding and returning it to the 
board. The same applies when entering the result into Bridgemates.
Do not look at your opponent's or partner's cards after the hand has been played. In order to look, you MUST ask 
permission first.



How should these hands be bid? How should these hands be bid? 
West is the dealer on # 1-12 West is the dealer on # 1-12 
1. KQ876 3 7. KQ943 A52 

AK943 J52 8 KJ976 
J3 AK97 AQJ642 73 
2 AJ643 3 AJ6 

2. A2 KQ864 8. 832 AK754 
Q92 J10865 AKJ853 4 
76 AJ4 872 5 
AK9873 Void A KQ7643 

3. J2 A9765 9. AQJ62 5 
98 AK732 KQ9843 A2 
AQ8 J Void J876 
AK9873 42 J2 KQ8542 

4. J32 KQ974 10. 64 AK832 
K6 A9542 32 KQ7654 
AQ7632 8 AQ2 5 
K2 A3 AK8742 3 

5. 32 QJ8765 11. 43 AQ965 
2 KQ3 J2 73 
AK843 5 K87 AQ9542 
KQ987 432 AKQ1042 Void 

6. Void Q98654 12. AQ864 732 
J32 A87 3 KQ98 
AK843 6 7 Q432 
KQ962 J54 AQ9652 43 

ANSWERS
1. 1S 2C 5. 1D 1S 9. 1H 2C 

2H 3D * FSF 2C 2S 2S 2N 
3H 4H 3C P 3S 4H 

2. 1C 1S 6. 1D 1S 10. 1C 1H 
2C 2H 2C 2S 2C 2S 
3C 3H 3C P 2N 3S 
4H P 3N or 4H

7. 1D 1H 
3. 1C 1S 1S 2C 11. 1C 1D 

2C 2H 2S 4S 2C 2S 
2N 3H 3D 5D 
3N P 8. 1H 2C 

2H 2S 12. 1C 1H 
4. 1D 1S 3H 3S 1S 1N 

1N 3H 4S 2S P 
4S P 



SUIT PREFERENCE SIGNAL AGAINST NOTRUMP

S J 9
H KJ10
D 642
C KQJ106

S Q10874 S K52
H A54 H 98732
D 10 3 D 9875
C 432 C A

S A63
H Q6
D AKQJ
C 9875

S N
1N 3N

West leads his fourth best spade against 3NT.

REBIDS BY THE OPENER WITH FOUR CARD SUPPORT

Axxx
x
AQxxx
Jxx

You open with 1D (this hand fulfills the Rule of 20) and Partner responds 1S. You must raise to 2S only. You have 
a minimum hand. You are going to be dummy though so count your singleton (dummy points) as 3 points because 
you have 4 card support.

With
Axxx
x
AKxxx
Qxx

Declarer should try the S Jack in case West has 
underled his S KQ. Too bad. It doesn't work. South 
should duck till round three when he wins Ace 
Spades. On the third round of suit, however, West 
knows she is knocking out declarer's stopper. It is 
imperative that West now show partner where his 
entry is. It is in Hearts. On third round of Spades, 
West should lead the QUEEN of Spades to knock 
out the Spade Ace.

This says: "I am knocking out declarer's last 
stopper. Now my Spades are good. In order to get 
me in later, my entry is in Hearts. The HIGHER 
ranking of the two remaining suits."

If West's stopper was in Diamonds, he would lead 
back the 4 to drive out last stopper. This is 
specifically when you are defending No Trumps.

You open 1D. Partner responds 1S. 
Counting dummy points, you now have 
16. You should raise partner to 3S.

Axxx
----
AKxxx
KJxx

You open 1D. Partner responds 1S. 
Counting dummy points, you now 
have 20. You should raise partner to 
4S. 

DUMMY POINTS
When you have support for partner’s suit & know you will become dummy: With 3 card support, use the 3-2-1

method: 3 for a void, 2 for  a simgleton and 1 for a doubleton. 
With 4 card support, use the 5-3-1 method: 5 for a void, 3 for  a simgleton and 1 for a doubleton.



RESPONSIVE DOUBLES

You hold these cards and you are sitting South:   KQ852    Q10864  83  7

What will you bid? If you bid a new suit in response to partner's overcall, it promises a decent quality 5 card suit of 
your own and 10 or more points, including distribution.

If you are not a passed hand, that should be forcing, in my opinion, but that is a partnership agreement. In any 
case, you do not have the right hand for bidding a new suit...not enough points and besides, if you choose to bid 
Spades, partner will have some Hearts but not Spades and if you bid Hearts, partner will have Spades but not 
Hearts.

Enter the Responsive Double. When you would like to enter the auction but do not have a clear cut course of 
action, make a Responsive Double when opponents have opened and raised that suit and your partner has either 
overcalled or doubled.
With above hand, bid "Double" and partner will know that you are showing both unbid suits and approximately 8 or 
more points including distribution.

And if instead the auction had gone:

Double will also say..."Pick a major, partner." You only need to be 4-4 in the majors to use this double in this 
scenario.

If the auction has gone: You are South on all hands.

and you have this hand: J743    KJ98    83    Q92

Make a Responsive Double. You don't care which suit partner chooses to bid and this way, you say it all in one 
bid.

But if you have: K6    QJ982    84    95

and the auction is the same:

Bid 2H as you do not wish to tell partner to choose. You have a clear cut choice. 
Double would say you have support for both majors.

If the suit bid and raised is to the 2 level, you can use the Responsive Double with 8 points (incl distribution) but if 
it is at the 3 level, you should have 10 or more points. If you have: 

Q6    7     AQ865   KJ762

If the auction goes

Double. This is a Responsive Double. Once again, you want to get into the act but you don't know which suit to 
pick. Partner must pick his better minor or go back to his suit if he hates both minors.

NOTE:
W N E S
1D Dbl 1S ?   This is NOT an opening bid and a RAISE so Double here would NOT be a Responsive Double. It

will be a Penalty Double.

You and partner must 
agree on how high you 
play Responsive Doubles. 
We suggest that you play 
this through 3S.

W N E S
1C 1D 2C ?

W N E S
1C Dbl 2C ?

W N E S
1D Dbl   2D ?

W N E S
1D Dbl 2D ?

W N E S
2H 2S 3H ?

W N E S
1S Dbl 3S ? Bid 4H if you have four Hearts. If you make a Responsive Double here, you 
will be at least 4-4 in the minors and because of the level to which you are driving partner 
(to the 4 level), you will now need to have at least 11-12 points or more.


